GRATITUDE

Favorite Things Right Now #3

Winter 2023–2024

Janna Barrett
6 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Hand lettering by Janna Barrett

This is my third post in a series inspired by writer Laura Tremaine, who runs this feature on her podcast, 10 Things to Tell You. I use it as a seasonal exercise in gratitude for the top 10 things in my life. It’s a way for me to mark my current chapter and reflect upon some of its highlights.

This form of reflection is pretty different from my usual fare. Rather than how experiences make me feel, these are observations about what I’m enjoying at the moment. They’re defining aspects of this season of my life.

(I try to time these posts with the seasons of the year. Now that it’s officially spring, here’s what I was enjoying over the winter!)

All images are by the author, unless credited otherwise.

01—Ours Is Chrome by Superheaven

Courtesy of Amazon artist page

This is the album I’m playing at least once a day. Even though it’s from 2015, it has a ’90s aesthetic that I appreciate. “Leach” and “Downswing” are some tracks I find myself repeating, but it’s hard to pick a favorite. The riffs and melodies of “Gushin’ Blood” are also fun to jam out…

--

--

Janna Barrett

Hi! I'm an Artist and Flight Attendant based in DC. I write and draw about my experiences as a travel professional. Follow for adventure and emotion!